Science

Acquainted with the night a parents quest to understand depression and bipolar disorder in his children pdf

Description
1. Acquainted with the Night: A Parent's Quest to Understand Depression and Bipolar Disorder in His Children Paul Raeburn 2. Publisher : Crown Release Date :…
Categories
Published
of 5
16
Categories
Published
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
Similar Documents
Share
Transcript
  • 1. Acquainted with the Night: A Parent's Quest to Understand Depression and Bipolar Disorder in His Children Paul Raeburn
  • 2. Publisher : Crown Release Date : 2007-12-18
  • 3. ISBN : Author : Paul Raeburn Download Here http://eap-books.club/readonline/?item=B000XU8EG4&lan=en
  • 4. In the tradition of Kay Redfield Jamison’s An Unquiet Mind, Acquainted with the Night is a powerful memoir of one man’s struggle to deal with the adolescent depression and bipolar disorder of his son and his daughter. Seven years ago Paul Raeburn’s son, Alex, eleven, was admitted to a psychiatric hospital after leaving his fifth-grade classroom in an inexplicable rage. He was hospitalized three times over the next three years until he was finally diagnosed by a psychiatrist as someone exhibiting a clear-cut case of bipolar disorder. This ended a painful period of misdiagnosis and inappropriate drug therapy. Then Raeburn’s younger daughter, Alicia, twelve, was diagnosed as suffering from depression after episodes of self-mutilation and suicidal thoughts. She too was repeatedly admitted to psychiatric hospitals. All during this terrible, painful time, Raeburn’s marriage was disintegrating, and he had to ask what he and his wife might have done, unwittingly, to contribute to their children’s mental illness. And so, literally to save his children’s lives, he used all the resources available to him as a science reporter and writer to educate himself on their diseases and the various drugs and therapies available to help them return from a land of inner torment. In Paul Raeburn’s skilled hands, this memoir of a family stricken with the pain of depression and mania becomes a cathartic story that any reader can share, even as parents unlucky enough to be in a similar position will find it of immeasurable practical value in their own struggles with the child psychiatry establishment. Download Here http://eap-books.club/readonline/?item=B000XU8EG4&lan=en
  • 5. Download Here http://eap- books.club/readonline/?item=B000XU8EG4&lan=en Powered by TCPDF (www.tcpdf.org)
  • Search
    Similar documents
    View more...
    Related Search
    We Need Your Support
    Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

    Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

    No, Thanks
    SAVE OUR EARTH

    We need your sign to support Project to invent "SMART AND CONTROLLABLE REFLECTIVE BALLOONS" to cover the Sun and Save Our Earth.

    More details...

    Sign Now!

    We are very appreciated for your Prompt Action!

    x